Another Jane

Jane Eyre. The other Jane of my life. The Jane that I currently want to be. No offence to the real Miss Bennet or Ms. Austen, but sometimes a girl needs to stand on her morals instead of going after the man of your dreams.

I love watching Jane Eyre. It happens to be one of those rare occasions, where I watched the movie and that sparked my interest in the book. I couldn’t get though the book the first time I tried to read it. Then I saw the movie, and my life was forever changed.

For those of you who don’t know, Ms. Eyre is an orphan who is sent to a not so nice boarding school where she is given a not so gentle education. She goes on to become a governess (fancy word for tutor/nanny) for the mysterious but handsome Mr. Rochester.

Mr. Rochester decides he is in love with Jane even though society says it should not be so. Jane also loves Mr. Rochester, but decides that she will listen to society. She also thinks that Rochester is in love with Ms. Ingram but that’s another story.

Long story short, after Mr. Rochester tries to marry Jane, his terrible secret comes to light and it causes Jane to run away.  So Jane finds herself in the company of the Rivers family. I won’t tell you all the juicy details, but it ends on an almost all are happy note.

Why is this movie becoming one of my top favorites, like number two on my romance list. I am at this point in my life where I rock and men sorta suck. Not entirely, but I just get tired of compromising myself in small or large ways in the name of romance. This woman whose faith that God will provide a way in everything, walked away from her soulmate because she refused to lower herself or her values. I don’t always do that. But I’m learning. Every time I watch Jane Eyre I learn.

Leave a comment